Shlomo Mintz – violin

Shlomo Mintz is considered as one of the foremost violinists of our time, esteemed for his impeccable musicianship, stylistic versatility and commanding technique alike. This virtuoso violinist, violist and conductor, is heard regularly on the international stage with well-known orchestras and conductors and is also a much sought after chamber musician. Mintz style is compared with the old violin masters who laid the foundations of modern violin playing: rich, full tone and lush vibrato.

Born in Moscow in 1957, Mintz immigrated to Israel with his family two years later, where he studied with Ilona Feher. At age eleven, Mintz made his concert debut with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. Shortly thereafter, Zubin Mehta asked him with only one-week preparation, to cover for sick Itzhak Perlman in Paganini’s 1st Violin Concerto. At sixteen he was at Carnegie Hall for the first time under the aegis of Isaac Stern. He began his studies with Dorothy DeLay at the Juilliard School of Music in New York. At age 20 he made his first major European tour with famous conductors such as Carlo Maria Giulini, Antal Dorati and Eugene Ormandi and signed a contract with Deutsche Grammophon.

Since then he regularly appears with the most celebrated orchestras and conductors on the international music scene and gives master classes around the world, among others in Crans Montana, Switzerland. He is president of the jury of the Violin Competition ‘Munetsugu Angel Violin Competition in Japan; was President of the jury of the International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition in Poznan, Poland in 2011; artistic director of the International Music Festival Sion Valais in Switzerland and president and advisor of the International Violin Competition Sion Valais in Switzerland.

Mintz will also celebrate his 60th birthday in October 2017. A special “The Art of Shlomo Mintz” box with all his 13 CD’s is to be re-released with Deutsche Grammophon in the springtime.

Mintz won several prestigious prizes including the Diapason D’Or, the Gramophone and the Edison Award and recently the Cremona Music Award 2016.